Carrot Cake

So we moved houses this week and of course I had to test my new oven to see how it works 😉 so I baked a simple,quick and scrumptious carrot cake! My recipe is inspired by Sally’s Baking Addiction again but I halved the recipe and added raisins because my daughter will eat raisins as a meal if I let her, she loves them and I thought it would add a nice pop of sweetness to this otherwise not too sweet cake! The cake is super moist and can be made with in the pantry ingredients.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar, packed 
  • 6 tbsp  vegetable oil 
  • 3 tbsp greek yogurt 
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • A pinch of ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cups  finely grated carrots
  • handful of raisins

Preparation:

Pre-heat oven to 175C 

Grease a springform tin with few drops of oil and set aside

ccake

Method:

  • Combine oil and sugar in a stand mixer or with a hand held mixer
  • Add eggs,vanilla,yoghurt and beat at a medium speed till well mixed
  • In a separate bowl measure out all remaining dry ingredients – flour,baking soda,cinnamon,nutmeg and salt
  • With a spatula fold in the flour into the wet ingredients until just mixed
  • Add carrots and raisins and mix into batter. It is better not to overmix
  • Spoon into baking tin and bake for 30-35 mins 
  • Cool completely and serve!

 

Leave a comment